Microsoft announced that it will add an alerting feature to Edge to warn users if their credentials saved to autofill have been compromised.
Microsoft announced several new features for its Edge browser, including a new alerting service to warn users if the credentials they have saved to
“Today, we’re announcing Password Monitor in Microsoft Edge to help keep your online accounts safe from hackers. When enabled, Password Monitor is a feature that notifies you if the credentials you’ve saved to
In recent months, credential stuffing attacks
Credential stuffing attacks involve
To prevent that threat actors could abuse credentials obtained from third-party data breaches, the Microsoft Password Monitor feature implemented in the Edge web browser will notify users if the password they are entering using
“If Microsoft Edge uncovers a match with any of your saved username + passwords, you will receive a notification from within the browser prompting you to take action,” continues the announcement. “Through a dashboard in Settings, you can view a list of all leaked credentials and get routed to their respective websites to change your password. Once the password has been changed, save the new credential to
The new feature in the Password Monitor will be rolled out to the Insider channels in the next few months.
Microsoft also announced the enhancement of the InPrivate browsing mode and a feature to prevent users’ tracking online.
(SecurityAffairs – Edge browser, credential stuffing)